Houston Car Accident Lawyers > Articles > Auto Accidents > Tx Hit & Run Laws – Houston Car Accident Attorney
Tx Hit & Run Laws – Houston Car Accident Attorney
If you have been a victim of a hit and run or know anyone that has been, it is important for you to know that Texas considers it a crime for a driver to leave an accident scene without providing identification and insurance information.
Houston Auto Accident Attorneys
What Constitutes a Hit and Run?
Houston Hit And Run Accident Attorney
All Texas drivers have a duty to give information and render aid, if necessary. The identification should state the driver’s name and current address. In addition to the identification, the driver must provide proof of auto insurance.
Texas law says that when a collision occurs, the driver must stop and remain in a safe area near or at the scene of the accident until the police arrive.
If the driver does not stop and wait for the police, he or she faces severe consequences. These consequences include a fine of up to $5,000.00 and/or imprisonment for up to 5 years.
Failure to Stop & Render Aid in Texas
What Is A Hit And Run Accident?
The duty to render aid includes offering the injured person reasonable assistance including arranging transportation to a physician or hospital if it appears necessary.
In many cases, Uninsured Motorist or Personal Injury protection insurance may be available to cover your medical expenses as long as you carry those types of coverage on your insurance.
If you or anyone you know has been a victim of a hit and run, please contact our hit and run accident lawyers at (832) 463-1003 for a free consultation!
Houston Hit & Run Accident Lawyer FAQ
How can I obtain compensation in a hit and run accident?
A hit and run accident happens when a motorist is involved in a wreck with another vehicle (or pedestrian) and leaves with the scene. In the state of Texas, it is required by law for all drivers to pull over after an accident that causes injuries or property damage, exchange insurance and identity information, and offer aid if they can.
Can I sue a hit and run driver in Texas?
As you would after any other auto accident, if the driver is identified, you can file a third-party claim with their insurance company. Additionally, you might be able to sue the hit-and-run driver (in which their interests will be represented by their insurance provider).
How long after a hit and run accident can you be charged in the state of Texas?
Prosecutors can usually charge you with hit and run one to three years after the date of the incident. However in cases of a misdemeanor hit and run, an offender typically has to be charged within one year of the occurrence.