Houston Car Accident Lawyers > Insurance Issues > Hit by Uninsured Texas Driver? Do this…
Hit by Uninsured Texas Driver? Do this…
With more than 12% of US drivers with no auto insurance, there is a decent chance that you could be involved in a car accident with an uninsured driver.
Our law firm handles auto accident injury cases in Texas. Call (832) 463-1003 for a free consultation.
What to Do When Hit by an Uninsured Motorist in Texas
Getting a judgment against the driver is tough sledding, as well: Texas laws prohibit you from seizing the person’s home, car, work tools, and as much as $60k in personal property to pay a judgment they owe a person for causing a car accident.
Most people lack the assets to exceed this protected level. Therefore, if you are hit by a driver with no insurance, you really need to have uninsured driver coverage.
Uninsured motorist coverage is an additional rider that you purchase on your auto insurance. It is designed to protect you and loved ones from drivers who lack insurance. Failing to carry a significant amount of uninsured motorist coverage is risky. If you are hit by an uninsured driver and have no such coverage, you could be out of luck to get your injuries and damages paid for.
How Uninsured Motorist Insurance Coverage Works in Texas
Uninsured driver coverage in Texas will cover your losses from a car or truck accident that you can show was due to the negligence of the other driver – and the negligent driver carries no insurance.
To recover damages under this policy rider, you have to have proof that the uninsured driver caused your damages due to their negligence. You also must prove that he or she lacked liability coverage to pay your damages. Also, you must provide proof of how much your damages were.
Clearing these hurdles alone can be difficult. That is the reason you should hire a veteran uninsured driver claim attorney in Texas to offer assistance.
Under-insured Motorist (UIM) Requirements in Texas
Texas law mandates that drivers have just $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident in accident liability insurance. Medical care today is very expensive. A week in the hospital will usually cost much more than $30,000.
Underinsured driver coverage is a bit different than uninsured driver coverage. Both are sold as one policy in this state, but they have key differences.
Underinsured motorist coverage covers you and all of your vehicle’s occupants. It kicks in when a negligent driver has coverage but an insufficient amount for your damages. To recover damages, you have to prove your level of damages. Again, you would be well served to retain a qualified attorney experienced in uninsured and underinsured car accident claims.
Texas Law Does Not Require This Coverage
State law only mandates that auto insurance companies offer uninsured and under-insured coverage to every driver. But the coverage is optional.
We recommend that all Texas drivers carry this insurance. If you are ever in an accident with a driver with no insurance or limited insurance, you will need it.
If you are hit by a driver with no insurance and are injured, please contact us. We may be able to help you get your injuries and damages covered.
Call (832) 463-1003 to speak to an attorney today.