Car Accident No Insurance Coverage

Car Accident No Insurance Coverage

About 14.1 percent of motorists in Texas are uninsured, according to a report by the Insurance Information Institute. Having no insurance coverage puts these motorists at great risk when accidents happen, and also puts them in trouble with the law. It is illegal to drive without the minimum amount of required liability auto insurance in Texas. If you are found without insurance, authorities may impound your vehicle and only return it if you present proof of insurance and pay a fee.

The minimum amount of auto insurance includes $30,000 for each injured victim, $25,000 for property damage, and $60,000 per accident. This type of insurance can be used to pay for expenses that result from car crashes. Paying for insurance is simply an easier way to protect your financial future

Penalties For Driving Without Insurance

Police will give you a ticket and you will have to pay a fine of up to $350 for a first offense. There are some offenders that have had to pay up to $1,000 in fines and lost their license for having a prior offense. If you cause an accident while driving without insurance, you will face further charges on top of the fines you have to pay for having no insurance. The penalties are even more severe if injury or death resulted from the accident.

Car InsuranceFor example, uninsured people that cause fatal accidents because they were driving while intoxicated could face harsher criminal charges. Drivers that do not have insurance also have to pay higher administrative fees. They have to pay up to $250 on top of the normal fees for a driver’s license. When they finally apply for coverage, their insurance rates may go up.

Driving Without Insurance In Texas Is Risky

Texas law allows for at-fault drivers to be held fully liable for all the damages that result from an accident. That includes car repair costs, injuries, and other losses in the accident. Normally, auto insurance of the at-fault driver pays for these damages. If you don’t have insurance, the compensation money may have to come from your bank accounts, and your assets may be liquidated to cover those damages. Many people cannot survive such a situation without going bankrupt or falling deep into debt. You still remain at risk if the other driver caused the accident. The insurance company may use your lack of insurance as an excuse to reduce the settlement amount. 

Hit By A Driver Without Insurance

You can try and sue the uninsured negligent driver for personal injury. However, this is only likely to work if that uninsured driver has assets such as properties or boats that can be liquidated. Drivers without insurance are not likely to have such assets in the first place. Fortunately, Texas requires your insurance company to pay for damages you incurred if the at-fault driver is uninsured. You can also protect yourself from such a situation by purchasing uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Your car accident lawyer can offer advice and answer all your questions if you are hit by an uninsured driver.

You may also be interested in…

  1. Car Insurance Adjusters Strange Secrets
  2. How To File Claim With Empower Insurance
  3. Need Help Filing Claim With AACC?