Houston Police Department Accident Reports

Houston Police Department Accident Reports

Law enforcement will investigate any car accident that results in property damage of at least $1,000 or serious injury or death of a person. The officer investigating the accident will write a report within 10 days after the date of the accident, and present it to the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT). You can get a copy of that report by purchasing it online, but you may need to go physically to the Houston Police Department for a full report. A car accident lawyer can help you obtain the report if you are not familiar with the process. 

Where To Get The Police Report For Your Accident

Every law enforcement agency in Texas has to send car accident reports to TxDOT. All reports for accidents that occur on any public roadway in Texas and on the Texas highway system is maintained by TxDOT. You can find the report for your accident under the Crash Reports and Records section on the TxDOT website.  All you need to access this report is:

  • The names of the other drivers involved in the accident
  • The ID number or badge number of the investigating officer
  • The date and location of the car accident

 You need to pay $6 fee for a regular copy of the police report and $8 for a certified copy. You will need a certified copy of the police report during legal proceedings. The following people can access the police report for an accident:

  • Any driver that was involved in the accident
  • An individual that was in the accident
  • An authorized representative of a person that was in the accident
  • The owner of the vehicle or the policy-holder of the motor vehicle
  • Parent, legal guardian, or employer of the individual that was involved in the accident

The TxDOT website has more details about what makes a person qualify to receive a police report for an accident.

Why You May Need The Police Report

Houston Police Accident ReportPeople who get injured and suffer other losses in an accident may seek compensation to cover several damages. They should make a claim with the insurance company of the at-fault party in the accident. But the insurance company of that party can only pay you if you can prove that their customer caused the accident. One way to do this is by presenting the police report to the insurance company to support your version of events. However, it is important to allow your lawyer to review the report before presenting it to the insurance company. 

What To Do After Your Receive A Crash Report

You should review the crash report after you receive it because there is a possibility that it may contain inaccuracies or inconsistencies. Your lawyer will advise you on what to do in this situation. These crash reports are not the only source of evidence necessary to prove fault. Eye witness evidence, vehicle skid marks, photos, and CCTV footage are just some of the things that your lawyer can use to identify the at-fault party. 

You may also be interested in…

  1. Need Help Reading A Texas Police Accident Report?
  2. Filing A Driver’s Crash Report In Texas
  3. About Filing A Police Report Days After An Accident